Our response to terrorism

Yesterday was a very sad day with the bombings at the Boston Marathon.  I happen to be a runner, although I use that term loosely as I could never dream of qualifying for the Boston Marathon.  (I have run 5 half marathons – rather slowly – and occasionally toy with the idea of a full marathon.  My pace is slow and slower!)  Even so, I feel a special bond with runners and understand the dream of the Boston Marathon.  Yesterday I sat glued to the TV, along with the rest of America, dumbstruck by the tragedy at the race.

Whenever something tragic happens, one of my first reactions is always, “What can I do to help?”  In this situation, there really didn’t seem to be a whole lot that me or my family could do from our home in Texas.  But, that didn’t stop us!  Even if we couldn’t directly impact the folks in Boston today, I knew that we could do something to help brighten the day here at home.

When I first started our Teaching to Give journey, the very first project Abby and I did in August of 2011 was to take cookies to the fire station.  Today, we decided to do the same project again in honor of everyone who helped in Boston yesterday and those who stand ready to help right in our neighborhood every day.  My favorite part of this project?  It was Jake’s first “real” project!  Jake will be three in May, and although he was technically “there” for a couple of projects before, this was the first time he truly understood and truly participated.

When I picked the kids up from school, we stopped by Target to pick up stuff to make our treats.  I asked the kids if they thought we should buy some healthy treats in addition to cookies and brownies.  They adamantly insisted that no, the firemen would prefer cookies and brownies.  So, cookies and brownies it was!  Here are the kids making the treats…

kids stirring

jake stirring

While the cookies were baking, the kids made some Thank You cards to go with the treats…

making cards

Notice Jake’s fireman hat.  Love that little man 🙂  When everything was ready to go, we took the goodies to the fire station just down the road from our house.  Jake HAD to wear his fireman’s outfit for the occasion…

jake at station

We arrived just as the guys were sitting down to dinner, and they were so welcoming and great with the kids.  They took the kids out to see the fire trucks, let them sit in the trucks, and everyone came out to pose for a picture.

abby in rig

all at fire station

Abby had put the thank you cards she had made into envelopes.  (For some reason she is really into envelopes these days.)  When we were getting ready to leave, the chief came out with the drawing she had made, unfolded.  He had put tape on it and told the kids that he was going to tape it to the fridge so they could remember Jake and Abby every time they got something from the fridge.  Abby is also into taping things in various places, so she thought that was great!

Over and over I have seen a quote on Facebook and on the news from some comedian pointing out how the good will always outnumber the evil.  In times of trial, I don’t think it’s enough to just label ourselves on the “good” side of the ledger.  The “evil” ones go to great lengths to carry out their evil, terroristic ways.  In response, we need to do what we can to show people the good in the world.  Today’s project cost us all of $3 (since I had many of the ingredients on hand today) and it took us about 2.5 hours of time.  But, it was such a great reminder to both myself and my children to take the time to be thankful for those who stand ready to help against evil and to show others in some small way what we can do on the “good” side of the ledger.

This entry was posted in General Posts, Project Ideas for Order Kids or Adults, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our response to terrorism

  1. Kate F. says:

    So sweet. Thanks for your example!

Leave a Reply

