What goes around comes around?

This weekend, we took the kids to the Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine.  Many months ago, Rob and I sat through a high-pressured vacation club sales pitch in order to get a “free” night at the GWL.  (Let me tell you, it’s not worth it!  Stay away from those things!  Just pay for your visit to the GWL!)  After jumping through a million hoops, we finally cashed in our night last night.

The kids had a blast.  Here are a couple of fun shots from the water park…

The plan was for all of us to spend Saturday night, and then I would stay there with the kids on Sunday.  (Rob works at our church and had to be there for the service this morning.)  Jake has never been on a trip before, and he has always slept in his crib.  The whole “everyone-in-the-same-room-and-Jake-not-in-a-crib” plan did NOT work!  Jake was so wired about the whole thing, that he had zero interest in going to sleep.  At first, he just sang songs in the dark.  We heard several rousing renditions of “R-E-D Red”, “Figaro” and “Deep and Wide,” among others.  Periodically, he would shout out “Good morning!” to us.  At first, it was quite funny.  Rob and I were in fits of giggles on several occasions.  That probably didn’t help with the attempts to get him to sleep!  After a brief moment of silence, he piped up with “I just pooped!” to which I immediately shouted out, “Not it!”  Fits of giggles ensued.  It was funny for a while, but after an hour and 45 minutes of Jake’s singing and running around the room in the dark, we finally gave up.  Rob loaded him up and took him home for the night.  That meant Abby and I had some mother-daughter time at the GWL today.

This leads me to the reason for this post.  For our last activity at the GWL, Abby begged me to let her play games in the arcade.  She only wanted to play games that give you tickets, of course.  She played and played and, since she’s not quite 5, ended up with just a small handful of tickets.  As she stood at the counter checking out the candy and small trinkets trying to see what she could “buy,” one of the ladies that works there pulled us aside.  She handed me four cards and said, “Someone gave me these cards today.  They have 500 tickets on them.  They told me to give the cards to whoever I wanted.  I see you don’t have many tickets, so I want you to have them.”  Let me tell you – Abby had an absolute blast “shopping” with all those tickets!  My favorite part?  She spent a good deal of time (and a lot of those tickets) finding and “buying” some really nice gifts for Jake.  She was so excited to tell him about the tickets and the gifts she bought him when we got home.

It was such fun today to see Abby experience the other side of giving.  It certainly makes it easier to teach her about giving when she sees how great it feels to be the recipient.  I can’t say that I believe in karma or “what goes around comes around” or anything like that.  But, I can say that it feels great every time you realize that there really are good people out there in the world!

My challenge for you this week:  commit one random act of kindness – and be sure your kids are involved.  Be anonymous and have fun with it!  I am 100% going to find something fun to do with Abby to pay it forward after receiving a random act of kindness ourselves.  (If you want some cute ideas for RAKs, check out this website for Guerilla Goodness.  LOVE IT!!!)  And, if you do a RAK this week, please comment below to let us know what it is!

This entry was posted in General Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

