Upcoming Project: Help us make a difference for a school in Kenya!

Yesterday I posted about a small project Abby and I did.  We simply bought some baby formula, a toothbrush and toothpaste, and some antibiotic ointment for a friend to take to Africa on a mission trip.  Little did I know that blog post would turn in to something much bigger!

This morning, I logged in to Facebook to find a message sent through the Teaching to Give Facebook page from a man in Kenya named John.  John leads a school in Eldoret, Kenya.  (If you’re curious about Eldoret, you can learn about it here.)    John must have done an internet search about people donating toothbrushes and toothpaste in African, and he stumbled across my blog.  The school is called Fresh Start Academy, and it includes preschool, nursery and primary school.  John said they are in dire need of toothbrushes and toothpaste for use by the children to promote oral health care, and he wanted to know if we could help.

I told John that I would be happy to help the school, and I asked if he could send me some pictures to share.  Here are some pictures of John (the first picture) and the school (all pictures)…

I especially love the last picture.  I’m not sure if they’re singing or playing a game or what, but what strikes me most about this picture is how much these kids are just like our kids.  Sure, they might have different clothes and their school is not much more than a shed, but deep down, they are the same.

When John sent me the pictures, he said that he had been praying to find someone who could help them, and now he had found me.  Wow.  It gives me goose bumps to think that I could really be an answer to someone’s prayers halfway around the world.

I am so excited to take on the project of helping this school and these children in Kenya.  My mind is racing with the possibilities and all the ideas I have for helping the school.  I would so love to have a long-term relationship with this school and help provide for a variety of their needs over the years.  Some day, I’d love to take Abby to visit the school and meet the people we’ve been helping.  (When I told Abby about this, she immediately said she wanted to go to Kenya to help them.  I had to explain that it’s expensive and, frankly, pretty dangerous to go to Kenya right now, but maybe some day we could go.  For now, we can do what we can to help them from here.)  But, I guess I’m getting a little ahead of myself!

For now, I am going to start by collecting toothbrushes and toothpaste to send to the school.  But, I need your help!  If you would like to donate toothbrushes or toothpaste to send to the school, please contact me and we’ll coordinate how to get them to me.  I will collect toothbrushes and toothpaste through July 20, and then I’ll mail them off.  (If you don’t know how to contact me, you can do it through my Facebook page.)  If you would like to contribute but don’t have time to shop or live far away, you can send me a check (contact me through Facebook for my address) and I’ll use the money to buy toothbrushes and toothpaste or pay for postage.

If you have a church group or Girl Scout troop or any other type of organization that would like to help support this school in the future, please let me know.  I’m sure they could use school supplies, Christmas presents, personal hygiene items, etc.   I am looking forward to getting many people involved in this exciting project!

This entry was posted in General Posts, Project Ideas for Order Kids or Adults, Project Kenya, Upcoming Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Upcoming Project: Help us make a difference for a school in Kenya!

  1. I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my friends check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!

Leave a Reply

