Run with Team World Vision!

I am not labeling this one as a project, since I already had a “run for the cause” project back in the fall.  However, this one is a MUCH bigger deal to me, so I really wanted to share it with everyone!

I have never been a runner.  Not even anything closely resembling a runner.  In January of 2011, I set the lofty New Year’s Resolution for myself to run a half marathon that  December.  By about January 31 (or maybe it was more like January 15), I had already given up.  I couldn’t even run a mile, and it seemed hopeless.

When the fall rolled around, a friend of mine put a note on Facebook that she was starting some teams for a marathon relay.  I signed up and ended up loving it!  My leg was about 5 miles, which was a huge accomplishment for me at the time.  Running that race gave me the confidence to complete my first half marathon in March.  Who ever would have guessed?!  Certainly not me!  I imagine my 8th grade volleyball coach, who watched me struggle through two miles every week and threatened to kick me off the team if I couldn’t run better, would have a stroke if she knew!

At any rate, the friends I met through the marathon relay almost all started running together last summer as part of Team World Vision.  Their church formed a team, and along with other churches and other various organizations, they were part of hundreds of people who ran for Team World Vision in Dallas last fall.  Over the course of many months, we have run together and chatted about all kinds of things.  I heard many, many discussions about their experience running with Team World Vision.  No one ever pushed me to do join their team or start my own.  I just listened to the experience they had, and it inspired me!

At first I thought I would join their church’s team for the Team World Vision run this year.  But, after giving it some thought, I decided it might be a really great opportunity for our church.  I discussed it with the pastor, met with a representative from World Vision, and now we are officially on!

Our team from King of Glory will be part of the larger Team World Vision that is running the 13.1 Dallas on October 27.  We will be having an informational meeting at the church on June 3 at 7:00.  If you have any interest in joining us, please come check it out!  (Just leave me a comment or send me an e-mail and I will be sure you have all the info about the meeting and/or the race.)  I have no clue how many people will join the team.  Right now I have had about 6-7 people express interest, but that is just from the small circle of friends I asked.  I am really hoping for a lot more!  You don’t have to be a member of our church to run with us.  The more, the merrier!  Bring your friends along for the life-changing ride, too!

Team World Vision provides guidance and a training program.  There is a Texas TWV Facebook page, and I’ll create one for our smaller group as well.  Teams from all over the area will gather for group runs on Saturday mornings for 18 weeks leading up to the race.  You don’t have to do the group runs, but they are sure to be fun and motivating!

I am so excited about tackling this new challenge.  If you want to join our team (or donate to our team or any of the runners on our team), you can check out our team page here.  I have set a lofty goal of having our team raise $25,000.  I have no clue if that is an attainable goal or not, but I am going to give it my best!  The more runners we have, the better our chance of reaching that goal.  You do NOT have to be a runner to do this.  I repeat – you do NOT have to be a runner to do this!  You will accomplish something you never dreamed possible, get into better shape, and help provide clean water in Africa, and it will all be worth it!

This entry was posted in General Posts, Project Ideas for Order Kids or Adults and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

