Project 23: Create cards for your kids’ teachers

One of my absolute favorite things about our service projects is when Abby comes up with ideas for projects all on her own.  This morning, as I was putting on Jake’s shoes and jacket for school, Abby grabbed some paper and her box of crayons and started feverishly working on something.  I asked her what she was doing, and she told me that she wanted to do a special project today by making cards for her teachers.  We didn’t have a whole lot of time, so I suggested that maybe this project could be done over the weekend instead.  No, no!  She was adamant that she wanted to get this done today.  She was afraid someone might throw away the cards she was working on before Monday.  So, we waited a few extra minutes this morning while she worked on the cards. 

When we got to school, Abby had three cards in hand for the three teachers in her class.  She told several people along the walk into the building that she had made cards for her teachers.  When she saw one of her teachers in the hall, she ran up to her and said, “Ms. Ashley, I made this card just for you!  It’s a Happy Thanksgiving card!”  She then gave the other cards to Ms. Aida and Ms. Marlene when she got to her room. 

It just warms my heart when Abby comes up with sweet, thoughtful ideas all by herself.  I never once mentioned the idea of making cards for her teachers, and I hadn’t really discussed any projects with her lately.  I will admit that I was a little bit burned out on our projects, feeling like my idea well has run somewhat dry.  But, when I see something like I saw today, it gives me a renewed sense of excitement for what I am trying to teach her! 

On a semi-related note, I thought I would share another example of Abby’s self-less giving.  On Halloween, we went trick-or-treating.  We started out with Jake, but she wanted to trick-or-treat longer after Jake tired out.  So, Abby and I made the rounds on our street (which is very long), and she had a whole bucket full of candy.  When we got home, she wanted to help hand out candy to the other kids who came to the door.  Unfortunately, we ran out of candy not too long after she got home.  She was so disappointed!  I told her, “You know Abby, you have a whole bucket of candy from trick-or-treating.  Maybe you could give some of that away?”  Much to my surprise, she loved the idea!  She rushed to her pumpkin and dumped about half of its contents into the bowl to give out to trick-or-treaters.  She said that she had plenty of candy – she wanted to give some of it away.  When that bowl ran out, she went back to her bucket and once again dumped most of its contents into the bowl for the trick-or-treaters.  Abby kept only a few pieces of candy for herself and gave the rest away.  The best part was that she loved giving it away!    Just for fun, here are a couple of pictures of the kids on Halloween…

We knew Jake (aka the golfer) was done when he just plopped down in someone's yard!

It truly warms my heart to see Abby enthusiastic about giving.  I pray that she will continue to grow into a wonderful, giving person!

On another, relatively unrelated note, today I went and delivered five filled, decorated shoe boxes for Operation Christmas Child (from Project 20)!  Many thanks to Jenny Eisenbeis and Nikki and Lilliana Kirk for participating in this project!  When I went to the drop off site (a church in Richardson), they had a room full of over 1900 filled shoe boxes with four more collection days to go.  It was amazing!  It was so exciting to think of all the Merry Christmases that will result from all those shoe boxes!

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

