Project 13: Run for a Cause

Running has never been one of my favorite activities – probably because I have never been in very good shape.  I have a lot of friends who have run multiple marathons and even one friend who has done Iron Mans.  I cannot in my wildest dreams imagine ever accomplishing such a feat!  Over the course of the past several months, I have started running more and more.  So far, I have lost 18 pounds (since Easter), and my running has gone from abysmal to acceptable.  I regularly run 4.5-5 miles on the treadmill at the gym (with a little walking mixed in), and I love how powerful and strong I feel!  I don’t think I have yet reached the point of getting that “runners’ high” everyone talks about, but at least I have gotten to where I enjoy running.  It feels good now instead of like torture.  I consider that real progress!

I originally set a personal goal of running the half marathon at the White Rock Marathon this year.  Unfortunately, when I laid out the schedule I realized it would simply take too much time and I gave up on the idea.   Then, a friend of mine posted on Facebook that she was trying to create three teams to run the marathon relay.  I was a little nervous about letting other runners down with my slow pace, but I decided to join the group.  I may not have the time right now to train for a half marathon, but I can certainly make the time to train for a 5 mile relay leg! 

One of the reasons I was drawn to the White Rock Marathon is that it supports a great cause:  Scottish Rite Hospital.  Scottish Rite provides pediatric orthopedic services to children, and no family is turned away because of an inability to pay.  I know several families whose children have benefitted from the services at Scottish Rite.

I think having a great cause to run for makes training for the race so much easier.  I am a week and a half into my training schedule, and I am hopeful I will be able to run my entire leg without walking.  If you are interested in donating to Scottish Rite Hospital, you can check out my marathon fundraiser page here.  I have set a personal goal of raising $250 for the cause.

Running a race is a great way to accomplish a personal goal, challenge yourself physically and mentally, and support a great cause.  You can find a long list of races on the Run On Texas website by clicking on the “Calendar” link.  I still have the goal of running a half marathon some day.  Maybe next year!

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

