National Day of Service

I have received a lot of positive feedback in the two short days since I started my little project and this blog.  Many people have contacted me and said they would be interested in participating in a project in the future.  It is great to see so many people interested in giving!  Several people have asked if I will be posting the list of upcoming projects so they can join in.  I will post some select upcoming projects that look like good candidates for others to join us.  However, if you have a project you would like to do, please tell me and we will get it set up! 

I was reading a magazine the other day and came across an article discussing the upcoming 10th Anniversary of 9/11.  September 11 has been designated as the National Day of Service, and people all over the country are being encouraged to serve in some form or fashion. 

I thought the National Day of Service would be a great opportunity to get others involved with one of our projects.  So, here is the scoop…   Everyone who wants to participate will meet at our house (in Garland) at 3:00 on September 11.  We will split up into groups and go door to door throughout the neighborhood collecting canned goods for a local food pantry.  (Surely it will be slightly cooler by September 11!)  When everyone returns, we will all cool off in the pool and enjoy a pot luck dinner.  Rob and I will deliver the cans to the food pantry the following week.  (In case you are into that sort of thing – as I am – the Cowboys’ kickoff is at 7:20 pm.) 

I made a pledge through the 911day.org website to do this project in honor of Paul Richard Salvio, who died on 9/11.  I did not know Mr. Salvio personally, but the site gave me the option of having it choose someone for us to honor.  You can view my pledge here.

If you are interested in joining us for this project, please send me an e-mail at holly.draper@hotmail.com.  I will send out more details to those who are actually participating.  I hope you will join us!

This entry was posted in Upcoming Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

