The Start of the Journey…

Hello everyone!  I have a full and great life.  I really do.  But for some reason, I feel like there is a little something missing.  I want to be more giving.  Equally important, I want to teach my children to be giving.  I have been on a quest of sorts for several years trying to figure out the best way to truly make a difference in the world.  I have come across people in various walks of life who devote themselves to some wonderful greater cause.  I envy those people.  I love how their lives are so full because they are so giving.  I love how they truly make the world a better place. 

I have often thought how wonderful it would be to create some type of foundation or charitable organization that would take over my life and change the lives of others.  Sadly, that thought has never actually gone anywhere beyond my head.  I think part of my problem has been that I have never felt really “called” to do any particular thing.  As I thought about those people I have met who have devoted their lives to a special cause, I came to the realization that most of those people had some tragic event in their lives or the lives of someone they love.  Out of that tragedy came inspiration and something wonderful.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am certainly not asking God to send tragedy my way in order to provide me with inspiration.  Instead, I am going to pursue other avenues to see if there is some “calling” out there for me.  Who knows… maybe that calling is teaching my children to be Christ-loving gift givers.  And maybe, just maybe, through that I will find some way to encourage others to do the same.  If we all make it a primary focus in our lives to raise giving, loving children, then the world will surely be a better place when we leave it. 

My idea to spend the next year (and hopefully more) devoting myself to giving and teaching my children to give all started when I read a post on Facebook from an old college friend of mine, Janae.  (Here is a link to that list.)  The post lists 100 ways for your family to give.  Reading through the list made me really energized and excited.  I went back and forth on whether or not this was something I could – or would – commit to.  Would life get in the way?  Would I get bored?  Would I run out of ideas?  In the days after I read the list, the idea to start this journey kept popping into my head.  Today I was reminded of a sermon our pastor, Jon, gave over a year ago.  He was encouraging people to become involved in various ministries at the church, and he said that if something keeps popping into your head, that is God telling you to do it.  With that in mind, here I am.  I am hopeful that by blogging about my journey, it will both keep me accountable and inspire others to give.  

My plan is to pick one item off the list (or an alternative idea that pops into my head) each week for an entire year.  I will post updates and pictures of our activities as we go, so please follow along!  If you have any good ideas that are not on the list, please share them with me!  Also, if you would like to participate with us on an activity, we would love to have you!

This entry was posted in The Beginning... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Start of the Journey…

  1. Judy Craigo says:

    Holly, how exciting to start this wonderful “Giving” journey with your children. My son helped me with service projects when he was small. Now he encourages and facilitates “giving” with his three young daughters. Enjoy the ride!

Leave a Reply

